Ad Code

Airtel launches free roaming scheme for five states

Airtel launches free roaming scheme for five states
Bharti Airtel, a leading telecom service provider in India, on Wednesday launched a much-awaited free roaming service for its prepaid customers of Delhi. These customers would avail this facility while visiting the five states- Bihar, Jharkhand, UP, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

This service will enable Airtel customers to receive free incoming calls for one month in five Indian states on a recharge tariff of Rs 21. Airtel subscribers of Delhi circle have so far been charged Rs 1 for incoming calls, Rs 1 for outgoing calls and Rs 1.5 for STD calls while on roaming.
Free roaming likely before October: Sibal
"With this pack, Airtel prepaid mobile subscribers can now get up to 30 days of free incoming calls while travelling to Bihar, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand and West Bengal (except Kolkata) by paying a tariff of Rs 21," Bharti Airtel said in a statement.

Earlier, the Centre had announced to make roaming services free across the country from March 2013 but later it was postponed to October. The announcement came days after Minister for Telecom and Information Technology Kapil Sibal said that the government is working seriously towards implementing roaming free services.

It is worth mentioning that the telecom companies are expected to account huge losses with the beginning of roaming charge free era. According to an estimate, telecom companies earn 10 percent of their total income from roaming charges.

Post a Comment